Poem: Believe


I don’t believe in angels

No warriors of light

No crusaders through darkness

But I’ll look at the starlight 

I don’t believe in American dreams

No slice of apple pie 

Only fear and questioning

While my head is held up high

I don’t believe that everyone’s free

That we’ve really all a choice

Confused by distracted chattering

While I’ve still got a voice

I don’t believe in anything

Or that anyone is real

I believe in different things 

And this is how I feel

Even when the world’s gone mad

And alone I stand

They can’t have my head or heart

Or what I make with my hands

Some call it misanthropy

I call it peace of mind

Whether I stand above or away

My own way I shall find
©2016 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

