Poem: Birthday

I’ve compiled a list

Of what I’ve done

Of what I’ve dreamed 

Of battles won

Of things not made

Of dreams denied

Of plans unseen

Of secrets I hide

Of what I have 

Of what I’ve not

Of what I’ve remembered

Of what I’ve forgot 

Of times I’ve had

Of those now gone

Of words once said

Of what’s left on

Of who I am

Of what I’ve been

Of what I’ve been left out

Of what I am all in

After these lists

I tally the score

Of all the years 

And how many more

Am I now where

I am supposed to be

Is this the road

That was meant for me?

©2016 James Takeo 

Leave a Reply

