Poem: Pretend It’s Not There 


It’s not just me

It ain’t only here

The pain, the despair

Living in fear

Problems arise

But few accept task

Keep walking on

Ignore what is asked 

Pretend it’s not there

That it’s all well and good

That there are no problems

In this neighbourhood

But I can’t unsee

The things I that I know

The misery and madness 

That bring such woe

The least of us all

Is the most we may be

If we continue to hide

What others can see

I cannot ignore

What I know to be true

I just want to help

Why don’t you?

©2016 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

