Poem: Conqueror of Gray

Photo credit: T Lee Kindy


On your rough face, my battlefield

Your bricks shall I possess

With the brightened colours

That outshine littered mess

My back now to reality

And all of their eyes drawn

Words I hear behind me

Yet quickly are they gone

Only in the image

Do I dwell and am weighed under

A palette to defend me

A sword that swaths with colour

Noise and traffic vanquished

Dust and dirt defeated

The battle never-ending 

The attacks now are repeated 

These walls do I now conquer

And overcome this gray

Until I duel another wall

Until another day 

©2016 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

