Poem: Until the Light is Gone

Once more is gray defeated

If only for a while

Hidden beneath the colours 

That may bring others smiles

Look with pride upon it

Grant me a passing wave

Offer words of encouragement 

For these efforts I’ve made

Some few may hate behind me

But to the world, I turn my back 

I’d rather face this empty wall

And colour up its cracks

The fire that burns inside me

The thoughts I face alone

They come out here in empty lot

And are painted onto stone

The only thing I understand

The only thing that’s mine

Impressed upon a surface 

To last for unknown time

But for now I paint this wall

And quietly carry on

To quell the storm inside me

Until the light is gone 

¬©2016 James Takeo 

Leave a Reply

