Poem: Gray

image

Even though it is now Spring
Everything is gray
Devoid of colour, lack of life
Each and every day
Same routine, same old song
Dance to another’s tune
The drum bangs on, and I grow tired
And hope that it ends soon
I want to believe that time soon comes
When all is colour and light
When flowers burst forth, and day is long
And towers burn bright at night
When music flows and smiles abound
And all is good and fruitful
When days are warm and sun shines down
And all your words are truthful
No more shall gray rule the day
And I’ll be joyful in beauty
But for now I wait for it come
And go on with my duty
Wait for such days, and keep some faith
Though I may question hope
And work toward this brighter day
That’s just beyond my scope

Leave a Reply

