Poem: From Guerrilla Park

I come to sit in this little place
In an oasis in downtown
Beside a brightly-coloured bridge
With the city all around
I wait for flowers to come and bloom
And for the green to grow
And dream of all the better things
That we will come to know
I see this city and all within
I see the water flow
I hear the music across the water
And contentment I now know
The streets no longer dusty
The buildings big and bold
The feats of those before us
Never tire or grow old
I feel a new beginning
Coming, and that time soon
This yet-to-be greatness
With all hands that’s hewn
In our creations that we’ve built
And the art that is displayed
We will never let it go to rust
Never let our colours fade

Leave a Reply

