Poem: More Than a Catchphrase

I’m just an artist
That may not seem much
I paint pictures, write poems
Plant gardens and such
I’m just one person
But I try to do good
For myself and others
In my neighborhood
A city of colour
A city of song
This city I live in
Is where I belong
Beauty is everywhere
In the parks and the streets
In a towering bridge
Where trails and water meet
This place we all live in
Is more than just what we see
It’s a place for us all
We call it “community”
Together we make
This city with heart
Through our hands and our heads
And me, through some art
So let me say these words
So I’m clearly understood
The future is colorful
Its all Welland Good

One thought on “Poem: More Than a Catchphrase

Leave a Reply

