Poem: I’m Chasing Rainbows in Thunderstorms

It feels like I’ve been dead
Inside
For quite some time now
There are a few shining moments
Of joy
Often overshadowed
By reality
Responsibility
And reactions

This used to be fun
Until it got serious
Now
As the world crashes in
Ripping off the doors
Smashing down the walls
With adoration and rage
There is no peace
No solace
No quiet
Just constant praise
And stabs
That don’t pay for reality

So much done
So far to go
So much work complete
So much more to go
While patience wears thin
Where did I lose myself?
How did I get here?
In finding ourselves
I became lost
And I’ll never be able
To return

©2015 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

