Poem: Promise me the World, Promise me the Night

image

You promised me the world
And in return you would have me
Though I had not much to offer
I had given it you for free
I held you closely to me
In a shaded park
Kissed you in the warm night
Held you in the dark
Watched the bright lights shining
And the magic that was there
That exists still around me
Though now you might not care
Words and dreams are whispered
Promises meant to keep
Even though it is not as now
My pledge runs in me deep
The stars still now shine brightly
As they did once before
And though I’m now not with you
My word is kept as it was before
It may be forever
Or maybe it is not right
You promised me the world
Though it was only night

©2014 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

