Poem: Defeated

There are many things
Inside my head
Doubt and sadness
Despair and dread
Happiness remembered
But now it is dead

Deep down inside
I am so unsure
My feelings I’ve had
They are so pure
Buy this distance between us
Is hard to endure

Light is now gone
Dark are my days
I retrace my steps
In clouded haze
Left all alone
In this mess and this maze

The sun does not shine
The birds do not sing
There is no colour
In anything
My heart has no voice
It no longer rings

Inside I am empty
Devoid of joy
Heart full of holes
Emotions destroyed
Because I was a plaything
Discarded toy

One day it will come
And with this I fear
I will become close
I will be brought near
Just to be forgotten
And no longer dear

Its only me
I’m nor that much
Worthy of brief glance
But never to touch
It’s only more pain
My life as such

©2014 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

