Poem: I Bought You Flowers Today

image

I bought you flowers today
In the market
Saturday morning
In the hangover of Halloween
The few people there
Shuffling
Shivering
With the oncoming dread
Of wet snow

You didn’t hold my hand
You’re too far away

I reread the message
That you wrote last night
Brief glimpse of hope
Then silence, still

The wet snow
Turns to water droplets
Painting the plastic wrap
Braving the elements
My hands are cold
Yet I still clench the bouquet tight
In my ungloved hand
Black hood disguising my face
I walk away briskly
As quickly as I arrive
I depart

I bought you flowers today
But I’m not sure
When you’ll get them

©2014 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

