Poem: Empty Corner Store

image

I went to the store for you
But it was closed down
The windows were vacant
The shelves inside were empty
The fridge in the back was a void
There is still a counter here
The register already gone
But, according to the sticker
The premises were being recorded
For security purposes
That doesn’t matter
I didn’t have the change on me
To buy you a chocolate bar
My debit card doesn’t work
And my bank is fucked
I’ll be getting paid soon
I hope
I’ve really been waiting
On that cheque to come in
From that work I did
Been waiting to get paid for that job
Way too long
Then I’ll get you that chocolate bar
When the store opens

©2014 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

