Poem: I Am Missing From You

I am missing from you
That familiarity
That bonded us together
Those gentle touches and words
They filled a void
That now stands between us

I am missing from you
I call out your name
And remember details of your face
Softly spoken words
Followed by laughing mouth
And smiling eyes
That stared into mine
But now, they so not see you
And ache to do so again

I am missing from you
Not some obsession
Not lost possession
Leave lasting impression
On my heart that remembers
In my head that burrows
Deep within my being
It grows

I am missing from you
It might feel like miles apart
Yet the closeness remains
Like you are here
Haunting
Everlasting
And it does not let go
Nor do I want it gone

I am missing from you
I am the thought within your head
That’s hidden in your heart
The wonder of where I am
What I’m doing
What I’m thinking
Knowing how I’m feeling
Although I know you’re right there
There might be miles between us
But only if we let them

For BH

©2014 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

