Poem: Burning Inside

image

Where are all the flowers
That are gone from this bed
With October moon
Hanging overhead?
Where are the fallen leaves
That lie upon the ground
Where are the gentle whispers
That barely make a sound?
Where is the wind that’s blowing
And carries me up high
Where is the starry veil of dark
That fills my evening sky?
All the things that still remain
But none as bright as when
You were in my loving arms
And these words to you I send
Only barely touches
The feelings you inspire
You sparked a flame inside me
It grew like a fire
All this world then burned so bright
Though it has now dimmed low
But the burning deep inside me
It shall never go

©2014 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

