Poem: Rust-Belt Wonderland

image

We roam the streets
Because that’s all we have
Now, yesterday, and always
I wander smiling in the gray and grime
I wander this place all the time

Every corner that you know
Every place that you go
It’s all the same no matter the change
But it’s beautiful to me

We hide in corners
With fire and noise
You, me, and them, and everyone
I sit in corners and think all the while
I sit alone and then I smile

Every crack that’s on the street
Every new face that I meet
It’s all the same thing I’ve seen before
But it’s all new to me

Day to dusk
Shadows and light
This, that, all, or nothing
I sit and write these silly words
I sit and draw, how absurd

Every time it gets like this
Every time it seems we miss
We only win when we try
Do it now before it dies

©2014 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

