Poem: Such is Life

One more
Last words
Then that is it

Here
At the end of all things
What is left?
Stuff
That I can leave to others
Cats
That will purr for another
Art
That will sit in closets
Poems
That are now meaningless

What did this mean?
This life
Who have I touched?
What have I changed?
Some will sing praises
Some will weep
Some will blame
No matter
I won’t hear it
Anymore

Impact
Inspiration
Now may be replaced
With questions that linger
Some will ask why
Just know
It was my decision
I wasn’t strong
I wasn’t superman
Just a facade
Of strength and hope
It was all a lie
I died every day
A little more
Until
There was nothing left
Except tears
While none looked
Pain
While I hid it smiles
Loneliness
In front of the crowd
Resentment
At what I had done

No more
All gone
Replaced
As I go to dust

Don’t cry for me
I was never here
All the things I’ve done
Everything I’ve been
Everyone I touched
Gone
Now
It is pointless
Without meaning
It is over

©2013 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

