Poem: Girls of October

image

Girls of October
Alone
Beautiful
Distant
The falling leaves
Framing them
As they walk on by
Warm sunny morning
My feet crunching
Past them
Avoid the glance
Like they’re not even there

On cool nights
They smile up at me
Share the beauty of the night
The stars in the sky
Are all ours
To disappear
In the morning
I pretend
That I’m OK
But I’m lonelier
Than before
Come close
To run away

Take notice
Of me
Think that I’m all that
When I’m just as alone
As you
Far away
Right beside me
On the phone
Words on a screen
Easily uttered
But hard to make real

Now I give thanks
To all that I’ve lost
Better
Than nothing at all

©2013 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

