Poem: Discarded Umbrella

image

I watch
As the magenta umbrella
Drifts lazily
On the old canal
Bright
In the warm sun
Reflected
In the water

The bridge towers
Knife downward
Into reflected sky
The somber colours
Lightly
Illuminated
But not nearly as bright
As in summer

Last few days
Of warm October
Draw to an end
The cormorant
Black in its wake
On the water
Flaps it wings
But does not fly

What once protected
From rain
Now lazily floats
Slowly
Past me
As I stop
To notice

Just a random object
Such beauty
In this
Ugly world
Reminds me
How I see
Why I feel

I am discarded
And I drift
Also

©2013 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

