Poem: Where Were You?

image

Where were you?
I looked everywhere
You were here one minute
Then disappeared

I grew afraid
Maybe you were gone
For good
Or not even here
To begin with
I’m not sure
Anymore
Perhaps just
A figment
Of my imagination

Suddenly scared
Lost
In the crowd
Pissing myself
While everyone was watching
Alone
Afraid
With no leg to stand on
And nothing to lean on
I would give you the same
But it didn’t happen
That way

I was down
Blackened
Unhealthy
I wanted to believe
In you
Feel safe
With me
What happened?

Out the door
You ran
Scared
Of me
Of yourself
Of everyone
All you know
Is how to go
Staying
Is the really scary part

©2013 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

