Poem: Embrace the Darkness

image

We used to be strong
Confident
Hopeful
Nothing could stop us

Then
I became
Unsure
Afraid
Weak
Damaged

Nowhere to turn
Nowhere to hide
For all to see
My naked emotions
While others
Pointed and laughed
Or sought to destroy
I found myself
Alone

Suffer in silence
It deafens
Gnawing
Ruinous
My own worst enemy
Look into the mirror
See nothing
But my blank stare
My pallid expression
My emptiness

What honour is left
To save?

I’m not afraid anymore
Headlong I plunge
Into eventuality
Into nothingness
I’ve spent
My whole life
Afraid of the darkness
Now
I embrace it

©2013 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

