Poem : At the End of the Day, I’m Nothing

image

At the end of the day, I’m nothing
When all the world has gone
Night has fallen, sadly
But my time still drags along
Quiet in my solitude
Far from the madding crowd
No need for mock bravado
No need to shout out loud
I put my mask of day-time
Up on a dusty shelf
And look into the mirror
And see my empty self
No need now to wonder
No need now to impress
No need to act as if I’m more
When I know I am less
Day has passed behind me
Now, there’s only night
Always, it is forgiving
Hidden from cold daylight
Tomorrow is another dream
Today now comes to end
Time now to grow quiet
And into sleep descend
Destined, I was, for greatness
Now I stumble along
But at the end of the day, I’m nothing
When all the world has gone

 

©2013 James Takeo

2 thoughts on “Poem : At the End of the Day, I’m Nothing

Leave a Reply

