Poem: After the Art Show

image

I awake
Fuzzy memories
Friends
Laughter
Remembering

How we ruled the world
Like kings and queens
All lay before us
Conquering
Magnificent
Now sobered
And nothing

Survey the scene
Cake boxes
Pictures
Remnants
The cramp in my leg
Yawns
Begins another day

What strength I had
Hopes and dreams
Foolishly revealed
Leaves me empty and tired
Floods me
Back to reality
Back to normal

What was victory
Now feels shallow
She sleeps on the couch
Peacefully
Hoping I did not
Make a fool of myself
The clandestine dream
That I revealed

Somewhere, sometime
It was all different
It was supposed to be
Unlike this
Never imagining
This would happen
Even in the limelight
There is darkness
It’s lonely at the top
Just as much
As the bottom

©2013 James Takeo

One thought on “Poem: After the Art Show

Leave a Reply

