Poem: Eclipse

image

There is a darkness
Angry solitude
Deep inside

One big hole
That feels
Like it can never be filled

Distraction
Amusement
All I can offer

All happiness
Fleeting
Temporary
The comfort and security
Of the familiar
I find it
In this void
Sadly

Lingering doubt
Casting a shadow
That eclipses hopefulness
Creates suspicion
Confusion

My own worst enemy
My trust betrayed
In others
In myself
Self-reliant
Or reclusive?
Only to be tempted
To reach out
To feel
Like I mean something
That this matters
That I make a difference

Every day
I end up
As nothing
No-one
No inspiration can I offer
No amazing things can I do
Alone in bed
Each night

I’m simply comfort
Whipping boy
Helpful hand
Scapegoat
Lend you my ear
Cry on my shoulder
Convenience
But
When you walk away
I’m nothing again

©2013 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

