Poem: There are No Fireworks

image

Here, there are no fireworks
Booming in the sky
Somewhere, I can hear them
But they’re not for you and I
There are no nighttime gardens
That bloom away up high
There is only darkness
In this dusky sky
Rain is gently falling
As I hear the whistles and pops
Thundering in the distance
While my whole world stops
There are no happy faces
And smiles so full of glee
There is only faraway echoes
So far away from me
I can hear the show is over
And day and night of fun
Are over for the others
While I am left with none
Another summer evening
Has drawn to an end
The celebration’s over
I’ve got my heart to mend

©2013 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

