Poem: Rainy Nights are Lonely

image

Rainy nights are lonely
And I’m all in my head
Heart is full wanting
Head is full of dread
I watch the tail-lights glowing
Racing down the street
Splashing up the gutters
Soaking my two feet
Sitting in the doorway
Front steps are my seat
Forgetting all the victories
Wallowing in defeat
Asphalt is all glistening
Soaked and turned to black
Reminding me of what was once
On the road that I can’t turn back
I sit here at the window
Watching rain fall down
Washing away my memories
Of what is not around

©2013  James Takeo

Leave a Reply

