Poem: King of the Castle

image

I’m the king of my own castle
I sit upon my throne
Stare out at my kingdom
But I do it alone
Everything I wanted
Is the only thing I’ve got
I revel in all that I have
Mourn for what I do not
All the riches that are mine
And yet it’s not enough
Filling up this palace
With all this useless stuff
With everything I conquer
And everything I see
I could be king of the world
But it’s not enough for me
I can have the riches
I can have the gold
But each day I grow weary
Each day I grow old
Everything I have
Everything I own
All the treasures that I want
But I am still alone

©2013 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

