Poem: All the Pretty Girls

image

All the pretty girls
Just don’t understand
Too busy seeing the image
To bother with the man
Flutter your eyelashes
Shoot me a crocodile smile
But I know your mind is distant
You betray it all the while
I know I’m hard to understand
But you’re as clear as glass
And once you have found better
Over me, you’ll pass
Spend all your time preening
Waiting for what’s next
Not bothering to hear me
While you answer texts
One day, you’ll find Prince Charming
Or so you’ll think of him
Then I’ll be discarded
As my chances grow ever slim
One day, you will realize
That it wasn’t worth the time
And when, for me, you look for
But me, you shall not find
All the pretty girls
Just don’t understand
Too busy chasing others
To bother with this man

©2013. James Takeo

Leave a Reply

