Poem: Endless Nothingness

image

Endless nothingness
Fills my silent and dark room
All now turns to emptiness
As I lie in wait, entombed
If it were so easy
For me to just cheer up
There would be light in darkness
I would drink from a full cup
Instead, I hide under covers
And hope to find some sleep
Wait for new tomorrow
As I dream so deep
Last vestiges of day
Are mournful memory
All the things I have done
And the things that cannot be
Lie here in the blackness
And think it can’t be worse
Fill up the page with my emptiness
In each line and in each verse
There are no sounds outside
Others are worlds away
Here, there’s endless nothingness
To finish up my day

©2013 James Takeo

Leave a Reply

