Poem: All the Ghosts that Haunt Me

The things that I remember
Regret and remorse do follow
The things I’ve known are gone now
And truth is hard to swallow
Everything is a reminder
Of the things that used to be
Trying to move forward
Yet stuck and can’t break free
Every time I’m winning
Every time that I’m ahead
All the ghosts that haunt me
Stop me in my tracks, dead
Constantly remind myself
Of what I used to be
Of the things that cannot happen
Of a future I can’t see
Always moving forward
But feeling left behind
I cannot turn the clock back
I cannot press rewind
These ghost that keep on howling
And follow where I go
Only there to haunt me
And never will they go

Leave a Reply

