Poem: I Walked Along a Broken Fence

image

I walked along a broken fence
Black and rusted bars
Down the quiet, empty street
Not a glance from passing cars
The old gravestones that lay therein
Victims of passing years
Well beyond most memory
Where no mourners shed their tears
In days of old had this once been
A silent resting place
For forefathers and tales forgot
In the midst of neighboring space
Stones now toppled and turned over
Laying in the grass
These places that now hold long dead
From an age now passed
A little break along the fence
That gives me great dismay
I do my task of quick repair
And then go on my way
Time will come when fence is fixed
My mind is put at ease
Now these old souls sleep easier
And the remains can rest in peace

©2013 James Takeo

2 thoughts on “Poem: I Walked Along a Broken Fence

Leave a Reply

